Advertisements

Global Effort

Two decades after the Beijing conference, it is clear that progress is possible—and equally clear that there is more work to do.  What remains lacking twenty years post-Beijing is the financial support and political will required to implement the Beijing platform and the legal improvements it has inspired in nations and communities around the world.  It is only when governments, multilateral organizations, philanthropic institutions, and the private sector muster the resources and will to elevate issues related to gender equality and ensure implementation of new legal and regulatory frameworks that we will finally realize the promise of the Beijing conference.

Much has been accomplished since the adoption of the Beijing Platform 1995: the gender gap in primary education has virtually closed on a global level.  The rate of maternal mortality has been halved.  More nations have constitutions and laws on the books to prohibit discrimination and violence against women.  And recognition of the relationship between women’s empowerment and economic growth and stability has grown.

HUMAN RIGHTS

Amnesty International www.amenstyusa.org/women

Human Rights Watch

http://www.hrw.org/en/category/topic/women

Human Trafficking www.humantrafficking.org

International Rescue Committee http://www.theirc.org

Open Society Foundations http://www.soros.org

Refugees International http://www.refugeesinternational.org/

UN Global Initiative to Fight Human Trafficking www.ungift.org

WOMEN’S RIGHTS

Alliance for International Women’s Rights  www.aiwr.org

Alliance Against Modern Slavery www.allianceagainstmodernslavery.org

CAST (Coalition to Abolish Slavery & Trafficking) www.castla.org

Cherie Blair Foundation www.cherieblairfoundation.org

Consortium on Gender, Security and Human Rights http://www.genderandsecurity.umb.edu 

Coalition Against Trafficking in Women www.catwinternational.org

ECPAT www.ecpat.net

Equality Now www.equalitynow.org 

Femmes Africa Solidarité http://www.fasngo.org 

Global Action to Prevent War and Armed Conflict on Women, Peace and Security http://www.globalactionpw.org/?page_id=61

Global Justice Center http://www.globaljusticecenter.net  

International Center for Research on Women www.icrw.org 

Shared Hope International www.sharedhope.org 

The Institute for Inclusive Security http://www.inclusivesecurity.org/

The Girl Effect www.girleffect.org 

NATO Women, Peace and Security http://www.natolibguides.info/women/home

UN Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization on Women and Gender Equality www.unesco.org/women

UN Development fund for Women / UN Women www.unwomen.org

Working Group on Women, Peace and Security http://womenpeacesecurity.org

Women’s Action for New Directions http://www.wand.org

Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom http://www.peacewomen.org 

Women’s Refugee Commission http://www.womensrefugeecommission.org

CHILDREN’S RIGHTS

Child Rights information network www.crin.org

Child Protection Working Group http://cpwg.net

GIRLS Rights www.girlsrights.org

Kids in Need of Defense www.supportkind.org

Save the Children http://www.savethechildren.org.uk

UN International Children’s Emergency Fund www.unicef.org

UN High Commissioner for Refugees  http://www.unhcr.org/pages/49c3646c1e8.html

 

Advertisements